Project Manager, Business Analyst, Team Lead, QA manual, QA automation

Project Manager

What is it 

What is a project manager? Let’s start with the fact that every first Thursday in November, the whole world celebrates International Project Management Day. Not every IT professional can boast of having their own international holiday. Perhaps this is due to the volume and complexity of the tasks they perform and the significance of their projects. 

To complete each project in the IT company, a team is created, which consists of different specialists. Some are engaged in product design, others - in backend, frontend, business analytics, marketing; and some are testing the product. But there’s a person who is responsible for the entire team - a project manager.

So, a project manager is a specialist whose task is to manage the project as a whole: project conception, assembling a team, drawing up plans for completing tasks, monitoring, and communication between project participants. Their task is to effectively and efficiently solve emerging problems and eliminate various obstacles for the team.

Project managers work wherever there are large tasks involved, that require the participation of various performers.

Average salary 

A project manager’s salary depends on work experience, volume, complexity and budget of projects and ranges from 390 to 6,000 US dollars in the Republic of Belarus. 

Where they receive education

Currently, there are a lot of opportunities for obtaining basic knowledge on project management and boosting one’s skill - courses, schools, YouTube channels, books, articles, webinars. 

There are a number of universities in the Republic of Belarus that offer training programs for professional development and up-skilling, based on the existing degree.

When studying vacancies for the position of project manager, one can encounter a requirement for higher education, which can be considered a rarity in the IT sector. This is often due to the fact that the requirements depend on the scope of the company in which a particular product is being developed. 

Business Analyst

What is it

The pool of IT specialists is not limited to software developers and testers, it includes other interesting jobs, too. 

The profession of a business analyst is relatively young. Before its inception, the professional functions of a business analyst were performed by a project manager or a systems analyst. But today, business analyst has become one of the most sought-after professions, which it’s difficult to imagine the IT sphere without.

A business analyst is a specialist located between the customer and the development team. Throughout the entire period of product development, they work with requirements and form a connecting link; they collect requirements for a future product from the customer, detect and analyze issues to eliminate them, communicate everything to the team and, with their help or independently, search for solutions.

The main task of a business analyst is to single out a problem and find a way to solve it. 

What knowledge and skills a business analyst should have

In order to become a successful business analyst, one needs a set of both certain personal qualities and professional knowledge and skills. 

The main part of a business analyst’s job is working with people, so the list of required soft skills is huge. Thus, a business analyst should be able to work with people in a team and with a large amount of information, delegate authority, have high intelligence, speak clearly and correctly, as well as competently express their thoughts, have leadership qualities, and a host of other things. 

Special knowledge that a business analyst should have includes: proficiency in the modeling language (UML) and theoretical foundation of software development, system analysis skills, and ability to perform detailed business modeling using specific programs (ARIS, RRose, BPWin, Together, etc.)

When studying vacancies for the position of business analyst, the following requirements are most often encountered:

Average salary

Career development of a business analyst begins with the position of junior business analyst, then middle business analyst, senior business analyst, and business consultant. 

The salary of a business analyst will depend on the position they occupy. 

The average salary of a business analyst in the Republic of Belarus ranges from 300 to 6,000 US dollars.

Where they receive education

People with a higher mathematical (technical) or economic education are readily accepted for the position of a business analyst. It’s even better if they also have a degree in the field of IT, or a combo of all three disciplines. 

Currently, there are quite a lot of opportunities for training to become a business analyst - courses, schools, YouTube channels. They are designed for both beginners and experienced employees as the opportunity to upgrade their knowledge.

Team Lead

What is it

Before we start talking about what a team lead is, it should be mentioned that this is not a profession. Team lead is a position that includes managerial and technical functions. 

Team lead is a highly qualified programmer by profession. They manage the development team and coordinate their activities, have a command of the technical side, architecture development, perform code review, distribute the workload, divide tasks into stages and sprints, monitor the effectiveness of the team, oversee the compliance of the project with technical requirements, maintain documentation, etc.

Despite the responsibilities mentioned above, team lead is not just a management position. They are also a practicing developer who knows the project code and is involved in working on it.

What knowledge and skills a team lead should have

Since a team lead is the head of the development team, they must have such personal qualities as: responsibility, initiative, sociability, diligence, analytical mindset, critical thinking, and technical literacy.

Given that a team lead is not only a manager, but also a developer, they must also possess certain professional skills: knowledge of application building tools, various programming languages (PHP/Ruby/Python/Java) and development methodologies, service technologies, application architecture, as well as experience in team management.

Average salary

Due to the rapid development of the IT sector, the need for team leads has increased, which could not but affect the salary. Good and experienced team leads are greatly appreciated, and their work is rewarded with fair wages.

The average salary of a team lead in the Republic of Belarus is one of the highest in the IT sector, it ranges from 1,000 to 7,000 US dollars.

Where they receive education

Team lead is a position that is impossible to get into after only completing relevant courses, because in addition to excellent knowledge in the field of programming, they must have several years of work experience, constantly develop communication skills, have various technical experience, and much more. That is why junior or middle specialists, even after completing the courses, will not be able to become team leads.

Despite this, a large number of courses and schools are available nowadays, designed for experienced developers intent on getting promoted or for team leads wanting to improve their skills.

QA Manual

What is it

It is impossible to claim good quality of an IT product without its review and testing. This is why QA specialists are needed - they are responsible for the quality of the software being developed, and functional testing. A QA specialist doesn’t just look for errors, they check the quality of the product and assess whether the product can be released. 

A QA manual is a specialist who checks the work of the software manually. They conduct testing and search for bugs, without using any automated test cases. To conduct such testing, a specialist needs basic knowledge. However, this doesn’t mean that everyone can become a QA manual, it will be impossible without professional training and special, albeit basic, knowledge. 

What knowledge and skills a QA manual specialist should have

QA manuals don’t have to possess in-depth technical skills and know programming languages. At the same time, they must know and understand what the user-story and the life cycle of the defect and development are, must be able to write test cases and test plans, know the principles of HTTP, understand Git flow, and much more.

A QA manual should be: responsible, enthusiastic, sociable and approachable, proactive, and have high analytical skills.

Average salary

The salary of a QA manual will depend on the level of the position in which the specialist is employed. The salary of a trainee (intern, assistant) or junior will be significantly different from the salary of a QA tech lead.

Admittedly, at the beginning of their career, a QA manual’s salary is quite small. The average salary of a QA manual in the Republic of Belarus ranges from 100 to 2,500 US dollars.  

Where they receive education

In order to start a career in QA, it’s enough to complete courses, of which there are a huge number in the Republic of Belarus. They can be both paid and free, take place full-time or remotely. Video tutorials, webinars, forums, and podcasts can also help. But it should be understood that no courses will give the practical skills necessary at work.

Like any other profession in the IT field, that of a QA specialist requires self-development and perseverance, great desire and motivation. One needs to be prepared for the fact that they will have to read a lot, watch video tutorials, that is, constantly improve their knowledge.

QA Automation

What is it

The direct task of a QA specialist is to identify defects, ensure the quality of the product, and check the final result for compliance with the customer’s requirements.  

QA automation is a product quality assurance specialist that uses software tools to create tests and validate the results.

Unlike QA manuals - QA automation specialists require programming knowledge in order to create automatic scripts.

A QA automation specialist monitors product quality at all stages of product development. 

What knowledge and skills a QA automation specialist should have

In order to take the first steps in the QA automation profession, one needs to know the theory of manual testing, as well as master at least one programming language at a basic level (Java, JS, Python, etc.)

Further, one will need more extensive skills and abilities: knowledge and understanding of Agile/SCRUM/Lean methodology, basics of operating systems (Windows OS and Linux at a high level), PC architecture, various test management tools, SQL knowledge, ability to work with databases and control systems versions, and at least basic knowledge of HTML and CSS.

A QA automation specialist must have an analytical mindset and critical thinking, love to analyze and solve complex problems, and be attentive to details.

When analyzing vacancies for the position of QA automation, the following requirements are often encountered:

Average salary

The salary for a QA automation specialist is higher than that for a QA manual, but it will also depend on the position in which the specialist is working (junior or QA tech lead). The average salary of a QA automation specialist in the Republic of Belarus ranges from 500 to 4,300 US dollars.  

Where they receive education

There are currently a lot of options for how to become a QA automation specialist. One can study independently (through books, articles, video tutorials, etc.), or find a convenient school or program of specialized courses to accumulate a theoretical base.  

Most QA automation specialists grew out of QA manuals and QAs, by adding programming to their skills. 

QA automation is a profession that requires constant self-development and training, because in the field of IT, including automated testing, things change very quickly.

Проджект-менеджер, Бизнес-аналитик, Team Lead, QA manual, QA automation

Проджект-менеджер

Кто такой 

Кто же такой Project Manager? Начнем с факта о том, что каждый первый четверг ноября во всем мире отмечается Международный день проектного менеджмента. Ни каждый ИТ-специалист может похвастаться своим международным праздником. Возможно это связано с объемом и сложностью выполняемых ими задач и значимостью при выполнении проектов. 

Для выполнения каждого проекта в ИТ компании создается команда, которая состоит из разных специалистов. Одни занимаются дизайном продукта, другие бэкэндом, фронтэндом, бизнес-аналитикой, маркетингом, кто-то тестирует продукт. Но есть человек, который отвечает за всю команду -рroject мanager.

И так, рroject мanager – это специалист, в чью задачу входит управление проектом в целом: проектирование, собирание команды, составление планов по выполнению задач, контроль, связь между участниками проекта. Его задача эффективно и результативно решать возникающие проблемы, устранять различные помехи для команды.

Рroject мanager работают везде, где речь идет о крупных заданиях, для реализации которых необходимо участие различных исполнителей.

Средняя заработная плата 

Зарплата рroject мanagerа зависит от опыта работы, объема, сложности и бюджета проектов и варьируется в Республики Беларусь от 390 до 6000 долларов США. 

Где обучаются

В настоящее время возможностей для получения базовых знаний по специальности рroject мanager и для прокачки skillа очень много- курсы, школы, каналы, книги, статьи, вебинары. 

В Республике Беларусь имеется ряд ВУЗов, которые предлагают учебные программы для повышения квалификации и актуализации знаний, на базе уже имеющегося высшего образования.

При изучении вакансий на должность рroject мanager иногда встречается требование о высшем образовании, что можно считать редкость для ИТ-сферы. Это часто связно с тем, что требования к рroject мanager зависят от сферы деятельности компании, в которой готовится конкретный продукт. 

Бизнес-аналитик

Кто такой

IT-сфера не ограничивает круг своих специалистов только разработчиками и тестировщиками ПО, в ней есть и другие интересный специальности. 

Профессия бизнес-аналитик относительно молодая. До ее появления профессиональные функции выполнялись рroject мanager или systems аnalyst. Но сегодня бизнес-аналитик превратился в одну из востребуемых профессий, без которой трудно представить ИТ-сферу.

Бизнес-аналитик – это специалист, который находится между заказчиком и командой разработки. На протяжении всего периода разработки продукта он работает с требованиями и является связующим звеном, он собирает требования к будущему продукту у заказчика, обнаруживает и анализирует проблемы для их устранения, доносит все до команды и с ее помощью или самостоятельно ищет пути разрешения.

Основная задача бизнес - аналитика обнаружить проблему и отыскать способ ее решения. 

Какие знания и навыки должен иметь

Для того чтобы стать успешным бизнес-аналитиком необходим набор как определенных личных качеств, так и профессиональных знаний и умений. 

Основная часть работы бизнес-аналитика - это работа с людьми, поэтому список soft skills очень большой. Так, бизнес-аналитик должен уметь работать с людьми в команде, с большим объемом информации, делегировать полномочия, иметь высокий интеллект, четкую и правильную речь, а также грамотно излагать свои мысли, обладать лидерскими качествами и мн.другое. 

К специальным знаниям, которыми должен обладать бизнес-аналитик можно отнести: владение языком моделирования (UML), теоретической базой разработки ПО, навыками системного анализа, умение выполнять подробное бизнес-моделирования с использованием специальных программ (ARIS,RRose,BPWin,Together и др.).

При изучении вакансий на должность бизнес-аналитика, чаще всего встречаются такие требования:

Средняя заработная плата

Карьерный рост бизнес-аналитика начинается с позиции junior business analyst, далее middle businessanalyst, senior business analyst, business consultant. 

Зарплата бизнес-аналитика будет завесить от позиции, которую он занимает.

Средняя заработная плата бизнес-аналитика в Республике Беларусь составляет от 300 до 6000 долларов США.

Где обучаются

На должность бизнес-аналитика охотно берут людей с высшим математическим (техническим) или экономическим образованием. Совсем хорошо, когда есть и еще и образование в сфере ИТ, или комбо из трех образований. 

В настоящее время возможностей обучения по специальности бизнес-аналитик достаточно много- курсы, школы, каналы. Они рассчитаны как для начинающих, так и для опытных работников с целью углубления своих знаний. 

Team Lead

Кто такой

Прежде чем начинать рассказывать о том, кто такой team lead, хочется обратить внимание на что это не является профессией. Тeam lead- это должность, которая включает в себя менеджерские и технические функции. 

Тeam lead по профессии является высококвалифицированным программистом. Он управляет командой разработчиков и координирует их деятельность, владеет технической стороной, разработкой архитектуры, занимается сode review, распределяет нагрузку, разбивает задачи на этапы и спринты, следит за эффективностью команды, контролирует соответствия проекта техническим требованиям, ведет документацию и др.

Несмотря на вышеперечисленные обязанности тeam lead не является только управленческой должностью. Он является и практикующим разработчиком, знающим код проекта и участвующим в работе над ним.

Какие знания и навыки должен иметь

Поскольку тeam lead является руководителем команды разработчиков, он должен обладать такими личными качествами как: ответственность, инициативность, коммуникабельность, трудолюбие, иметь аналитический склад ума, критическое мышление, техническую грамотность.

Так как тeam lead является не только руководителем, но и разработчиком, он должен обладать определенными профессиональными навыками: владеть инструментами для построения приложений, знать различные языки программирования (PHP/Ruby/Python/Java) и методологии разработки, сервисные технологии, знать и понимать архитектуру для приложений, имеет опыт управления командой.

Средняя заработная плата

В связи с развитием сферы ИТ потребность в должности тeam lead повысилось, что не могло не отразится на зарплате. Хороший и опытный тeam lead ценится, и его работа достойна оплачивается.

Средняя заработная плата тeam lead в Республике Беларусь является одной из самых высоких в сфере ИТ, она составляет от 1000 до 7000 долларов США.

Где обучаются

Тeam lead эта та должность, на которую невозможно попасть после окончания курсов, поскольку необходимо помимо отличных знаний в области программирования иметь опыт работы в несколько лет, развивать коммуникативные навыки, иметь различный технический опыт и многое др. Именно поэтому junior или middle, даже после прохождения курсов, не смогут стать тeam lead.

Несмотря на это, в настоящее время предоставлено большое количество курсов, школ, которые рассчитаны для опытных разработчиков, планирующих повышение в должности или уже для тeam lead с целью прокачки skills.

QA manual

Кто такой

Невозможно претендовать на хорошее качество ИТ продукта без его проверки и тестирования. Именно для этого необходимы QA специалисты, которые отвечают за качество разрабатываемого ПО, функциональное тестирование. QA специалист не просто разыскивает ошибки, он проверяет качество продукта и дает оценку можно ли выпускать этот продукт. 

QA manual является специалистом, который проверяет работу ПО вручную. Он проводит тестирование и ищет баги, не используя для этого никаких автоматизированных тест-кейсов. Для проведения такого тестирования специалисту нужны базовые знания. Однако это совсем не значит, что QA manual может стать каждый, это будет невозможно без профессиональной подготовки и специальных, хоть и базоавх, знаний. 

Какие знания и навыки должен иметь

QA manual необязательно иметь углубленные технические навыки и знать языки программирования. Но при этом он должен знать и понимать, что такое user-story и жизненный цикл дефекта и разработки, уметь писать тест-кейсы и тест-планы, знать принципы HTTP, понимание Git flow и многое другое.

QA manual должен быть: ответственным, увлеченным, коммуникабельным и контактным, инициативным, иметь высокие аналитические навыки.

Средняя заработная плата

Заработная плата QA manual будет зависть от позиции, на которой находится специалист. Зарплата Тrainee (стажера, ассистента) или Junior будет значительно отличаться от зарплаты QA Tech Lead

Надо признать, что вначале карьеры зарплата QA manual является достаточно маленькой. Средняя заработная плата QA manual в Республике Беларусь составляет от 100 до 2500 долларов США.  

Где обучаются

Для того, чтобы начать карьеру в QA достаточно закончить курсы, которых в Республике Беларусь огромное количестве. Они могут быть и платными, и бесплатными, проходить в очной и дистанционной форме. Также полезными ресурсами будут являться видеоуроки, вебинары, форумы, подкасты. 

Надо понимать, что ни одни курсы не дадут практических навыков, которые будут необходимы на работе.

QA специалист, как и любая другая профессия в сфере ИТ требует саморазвития и усидчивости, большого желания и мотивации. Надо быть готовым к тому, что вам придется много читать, смотреть видеоуроков, то есть бесконечно совершенствовать свои знания.

QA automation

Кто такой

Прямой задачей QA специалиста является выявление дефектов, обеспечение качества продукта, проверка итогового результата на соответствие требований заказчика.  

QA аutomation это специалист по обеспечению качества продукта, который использует программные средства для создания тестов и проверки результатов.

В отличии от QA manual - QA Automation необходимо знание программирования, для того чтобы создавать автоматические скрипты.

QA Automation мониторит качество продукции на всех этапах разработки продукции. 

Какие знания и навыки должен иметь

Для того, чтобы сделать первые шаги в профессии QA Automation необходимо знать теорию ручного тестирования, а также владеть хотя бы одним языком программирования на базовом уровне (Java, JS, Python и др.).

Далее понадобятся более обширные навыки и умения: знание и понимание методологии Agile/SCRUM/Lean, основ оперативных систем (OC Windows и Linux на высоком уровне), архитектуры ПК, различных инструментов управления тестированием, знания SQL, умение работать с базами данных и системами контроля версий, хотя бы базовое знание HTML и CSS.

QA Automation должен обладать аналитическим сладом ума и критическим мышлением, любить анализировать и решать сложные задачи, быть внимательным к деталям.

При анализе вакансий на должность QA Automation часто встречаются такие требования:

Средняя заработная плата

Зарплата для специалиста QA Automation выше чем для QA manual, но она также будет завесить от позиции, на которой находится специалист (Junior или QA Tech Lead). Средняя заработная плата QA Automation в Республике Беларусь составляет от 500 до 4300 долларов США.  

Где обучаются

Вариантов, как стать QA Automation в настоящее время очень много. Можно проходить обучение самостоятельно (по книгам, статьям, видеоурокам, др.), а можно найти удобную школу или программу специализированных курсов для накапливания теоретической базы.  

Большинство QA Automation выросли из QA manual и QA-специалистов, дополнив свои знания программированием. 

QA Automation это профессия, которая требует постоянного саморазвития и обучения, поскольку в сфере ИТ, в том числе и в автоматизированном тестировании все меняет крайне стремительно.