Product Manager, Product Owner, Scrum Master, UI/UX Designer

Product Manager

What is a Product Manager?

Product management is a completely new phenomenon in the digital world. This profession appeared on the market no more than five years ago. It is for this reason that every website and article devoted to this topic includes a different definition of this speciality. 

This is primarily due to the fact that a product manager in different companies may have different functions and areas of responsibility, since companies create different products in different fields.

If we analyze the vacancies of a product manager, we can characterize them as a specialist who must combine the skills of a manager, marketer, programmer, designer, analyst and other professions.

A product manager is a person responsible for creating and launching a new product. They also supervise its operation, including after technical implementation. They must understand the market and feel it, determine the advantage of the product and how to promote it. 

Product creation is a long journey, which includes planning, development, testing, revision, implementation, and support. At each of these stages, a product manager performs their various tasks: determines the business goals of the product, conducts market analysis, studies competitors, conducts product testing and analytics, and much more.

Average salary of a Product Manager in Belarus 

The average salary of a product manager in the Republic of Belarus ranges from 750 to 5,500 US dollars. Such a gap in salary depends not only on the company that offers the position, but also on the skills and abilities of the specialist, sometimes seniority and knowledge of a foreign language. Sometimes it happens that a good specialist, having received an offer, sets their own conditions about the desired salary and gets it granted.

Where does one study to become a product manager in Belarus 

To date, a large number of schools, courses, blogs, podcasts, and thematic Telegram and YouTube channels have been created for product managers. Many of them look like simulators, allowing one to imagine themselves already working in a company on a specific product. 

All that will be beneficial both for people who are already in the profession - to boost their skills, and for those who are just keeping an eye out for this position and have a poor idea of what a “product manager” is and whether it’s a right profession for them. 

Product Owner

What is it

Product owners are often confused with product managers. A product owner is a person who, on behalf of the company, by virtue of their official duties, must take charge of the product. They manage both the creation of the product and the end result. 

If being a product manager is more about marketing, working with the market, then being a product owner means partially performing the functions of a project manager, marketing manager, analyst, etc. A product owner has power and a lot of responsibilities.

This is the person who manages the creation of the product and is responsible for what happens as a result. They work closely with the team, have at least some technical knowledge to be able to communicate with the team in the same language, as well as knowledge of development and UI/UX; sometimes they even control the budget. 

If one tries to describe in a few simple phrases what a product owner is, it’ll turn out that this person is one of the most important elements in the product development process. Without them, the project would be in a state of chaos and disarray. It is the product owner that coordinates the actions of developers, communicates with customers, identifies the main needs of the product and is responsible for its final version.

What knowledge and skills a product owner should have

In order to be a successful product owner, one needs to have certain skills, or as they say about themselves - product owner skills. Thus, a good product owner must possess leadership, strategic and tactical skills, financial literacy, have knowledge in software development, marketing, project management, be a business analyst and a psychologist (obviously, we’re not talking here about having actual degrees in these professions).

When analyzing vacancies for the position of product owner, the following requirements are often encountered:

It should be noted that the career advancement of developers looks standard for the IT field (Junior, Middle, Senior, Lead). With product owners, everything is completely different, since a product owner is the owner of the product, that is, the decision maker, so they must already have sufficient knowledge and experience. 

Average salary

When looking at product owner vacancies, one can notice that most companies do not specify the wages. However, some vacancies, as well as the Internet platforms, feature salaries ranging from 2,000 to 6,500 US dollars.  

Of course, for a high salary, the candidate must be a true professional, constantly develop their skills and have substantial experience related to the creation and development of successful products. 

Where they receive education

Currently, a huge number of courses, trainings, and schools, both paid and free, are available to help a novice specialist become an excellent manager, advance to the next level of professional development and get practical skills. 

Scrum Master

What is it

Over the past few years, there’s been a boom in the IT industry, which has led to the emergence of many professions that most people, who are not related to IT, haven’t even heard of. One of these “unknown” professions is a Scrum master.

A Scrum master is a person located between the project and the client. One can call them a team coach; they don’t manage teams, they train them. Such a person is responsible for the Scrum process (project management method), its implementation, and compliance with its principles. 

Despite the fact that the name of this position contains the word “Scrum”, a Scrum master does not have to limit themselves to working only with this framework. They can also use Agile, Kanban, Lean Startup, and mix different approaches.

The main task of a Scrum master is to find the right working option, taking into account and understanding the specifics of the team and the project, that is, optimize the workflow, as well as solve various difficulties on the way to creating the perfect product.

What knowledge and skills a Scrum master should have

A good Scrum master should be: creative, curious, communicative, adaptive and stress-resistant, possess organizational skills and leadership qualities. 

A Scrum master must understand the process of product development. That’s why it is very common for employees with experience as project-managers, QA specialists or business-analysts to be hired for this position. 

The special knowledge that is required from a Scrum master includes mastery and understanding of Agile, Scrum, specification by example, delivery and deployment, etc., and understanding of various practices, for example, TDD (Test Driven Development) and BDD (Behavior Driven Development). 

When studying and analyzing vacancies for the position of Scrum master, the following requirements are most often encountered:

Average salary

The Scrum master profession has been included in the list of promising professions for years (according to the LinkedIn rating). It is assumed that in the near future this profession will gain popularity, the demand for it will increase, and the minimum wage will be at least 8,300 US dollars.

But, as mentioned above, the profession of a Scrum master has only recently appeared in the Republic of Belarus, so that kind of salary isn’t feasible in the near future. 

The average salary of a Scrum master in the Republic of Belarus ranges from 500 to 3,300 US dollars. 

Where they receive education

Learning just the theory offered by numerous courses and schools is not enough to become a Scrum master. One needs practice and experience of working with teams. It is almost impossible to enter the profession after completing just courses, since there are a lot of nuances in the work of a Scrum master, issues that need to be solved in practice every day. 

Experienced Scrum masters advise to undergo training in facilitation, coaching, conflict management, since these skills are basic for the profession.

In addition, Scrum masters have their own handbook, the Scrum Guide, which provides guidance on how to apply the approach. 

A lot of useful information can be gleaned at conferences dedicated to Agile; when attending open meetups where Agile practitioners gather; and also when watching interviews with other Scrum masters. 

Furthermore, the Republic of Belarus offers official certification courses, which result in the student receiving the CSM (Certified ScrumMaster) status should they successfully pass the exams.

UI/UX Designer

What is it

UX/UI designer is a specialist who designs user interfaces. This profession combines two different areas in design - UI (User Interface), and UX (User Experience).  

While the UI is concerned with the appearance of the interface, the UX makes sure that the user is comfortable, and also encourages them to perform certain actions. One could say that the UI is the visual embodiment of the UX.

It has become established practice that UX and UI are very closely related to each other, so this job is usually performed by one versatile specialist.

What knowledge and skills a UI/UX designer should have

In order to become a UX/UI designer, it’s not enough to just be a creative person with a qualification of a designer or an artist. A good candidate for this profession must have a well-developed logic, spatial thinking and imagination, must be able to follow the rules and tasks, have patience and be stress resistant. 

To get the qualification of a UX/UI designer, one needs to possess basic skills in web design and experience working with the main software, such as: Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator, Figma, Axure, Sketch. 

One needs to understand that UX/UI design is a very dynamic direction which keeps generating new trends and they need to be followed. 

The main requirements for a candidate for the position of a UX/UI designer that are encountered when studying vacancies are: 

• Experience with Figma, Adobe Photoshop, Adobe AfterEffects, Zeplin

• A portfolio with relevant UI/UX examples

• Good communication skills and sense of style

Average salary

UI/UX designers in the Republic of Belarus can expect the following salary: juniors - 600 US dollars, middles – 2,000 US dollars, seniors - 3,000 US dollars, and team leads - at least 4,000 US dollars.

Where they receive education

Since UI/UX design is currently one of the most sought-after professions in the digital industry, there are a lot of training opportunities. These can be courses, blogs, guidelines, and even books, articles, and tips from blogs.

As UI/UX designers themselves say, the best way to become a UI/UX designer is to start working as one. As soon as one gets their first knowledge, they need to start practicing.

Продукт-менеджер, Продукт оунер, Скрам Мастер, UI/UX дизайнер

Продукт-менеджер

Кто такой продукт-менеджер

Продукт-менеджер или рroduct manager является абсолютно новым явлением в digital-мире. На рынке данная профессия появилась не более пяти лет назад. Именно по этой причине на каждом сайте и в каждой статье, посвященной данной теме, даются разные определения настоящей специальности. 

В первую очередь это связано с тем, что у рroduct manager в разных кампаниях могут быть разные обязанности и зона ответственности, поскольку компании создают разные продукты в разных сферах деятельности.

Если провести анализ вакансий рroduct manager, то можно охарактеризовать его как специалиста, который должен совмещаться в себе навыки управленца, маркетолога, программиста, дизайнера, аналитика и иных специальностей.

Рroduct manager является человеком, который отвечает за создание и выход на рынок нового продукта, контролирует его работу, в том числе после технической реализации. Он должен понимать рынок и чувствовать его, определять преимущество продукта и как именно его продвигать. 

Создание продукта - это большой путь: планирование, разработка, тестирование, доработка, внедрение, поддержка. На каждом из этих этапов рroduct manager выполняет свои разнообразные задачи: определяет бизнес цели продукта, проводит анализ рынка, изучает конкурентов, проводит тестирование продукта, проводит аналитику продукта и многое другое.

Средняя заработная плата продукт-менеджера в Беларуси 

Средняя зарплата рroduct manager в Республики Беларусь составляет от 750 до 5500 долларов США. Такая разбежка в зарплате зависит не только от компании, которая предлагает должность, но и от навыков и умений специалиста, иногда стажа и знания иностранного языка. Бывает, что хороший специалист, получив оффер, ставит свои условия о желаемой заработной плате и получает ее.

Где обучаются на продукт-менеджеров в Беларуси

Для рroduct manager на сегодняшний момент создано многочисленное количество школ, курсов, блогов, подкастов, тематических телеграм-и ютуб –каналов. Многие из них выглядят как симуляторы, позволяющие представить, что ты работаешь уже в компании над каким-то конкретным продуктом. 

Все это подойдет как для людей уже находящихся в профессии - для прокачки скилла, так и для тех, кто только присматривается к данной профессии и плохо представляет, что такое «рroduct manager», подходит ли эта профессия непосредственно ему. 

Продукт оунер

Кто такой

Product owner (продукт оунер) часто путают с Product Manager. Рroduct Owner или владелец продукта - это человек, который от имени компании в силу своих должностных обязанностей должен распоряжаться продуктом. Он управляет как созданием продукта, так и конечным результатом. 

Если рroduct мanager это скорее история про маркетинг, про работу с рынком, то рroduct оwner выполняет частично функции руководителя проекта, менеджера, маркетолога, аналитика и др. У рroduct оwner есть власть и много ответственности.

Это человек, который управляет созданием продукта и отвечает за то, что получится в результате. Он тесно работает с командой, обладает техническими знаниями, хотя бы минимальными, чтобы общаться с командой на одном языке, а также знаниями разработки и UI/UX, иногда даже контролирует бюджет. 

Если постараться в нескольких предложениях описать незамысловатыми фразами кто такой рroduct оwner то получится, что этот человек один из важнейших элементов в процессе разработки продукта. Без него на проекте царил бы беспорядок и путаница. Именно рroduct оwner координирует действия разработчиков, общается с заказчиками, выявляет главные потребности продукта и отвечает за финальный вариант продукта.

Какие знания и навыки должен иметь

Для того что быть успешным рroduct оwner нужно обладать определенными навыками или как говорят они сами о себе - Product Owner skills. Так, хороший рroduct оwner должен обладать лидерскими, стратегическими и тактическими навыками, финансовой грамотностью, знаниями в области разработки ПО, маркетинга, умением управлять проектами, быть бизнес-аналитиком и психологом (естественно речь идет не о наличии диплома данной профессии).

При анализе вакансий на должность рroduct оwner часто встречаются такие требования:

Необходимо отметить что карьерный рост разработчиков выглядит стандартно для темы ИТ (Junior, Middle, Senior, Lead). У рroduct оwner все совершенно по-другому, поскольку рroduct оwner – владелец продукта, то есть лицо, принимающее решения, то оно должно уже обладать достаточными знаниями и опытом. 

Средняя заработная плата

Если ознакомиться с вакансиями рroduct оwner, то можно обратить внимание, что большинство компаний не указывают заработные платы. Однако все же в некоторых вакансиях, а также на интернет платформах, фигурирует заработная плата в диапазоне от 2000 до 6500 долларов США.  

Конечно, для высокой зарплаты рroduct оwner должен быть профессионалом своего дела, развивать скиллы и иметь хороший опыт, связанный с созданием и развитием продукта, который еще будет и успешным. 

Где обучаются

В настоящее время предоставлено огромное количество курсов, тренингов, школ, как платных, так и бесплатных, которые помогут начинающему специалисту стать отличным управленцем, перешагнуть на следующий уровень профессионального развития и получить практические навыки. 

Скрам Мастер

Кто такой

За последние несколько лет в ИТ-сфере произошел бум, который повлек за собой появление многих профессий о которых большинство людей, не связанных с ИТ, даже и не слышали. К одной из таких «неведомых» профессий можно отнести Scrum-мастер.

Scrum-мастер - это человек, который находится между проектом и клиентом. Его можно назвать коучем для команды, он ею не управляет, он ее тренирует. Такой человек отвечает за процесс Scrum (метод управления проектами), за его реализацию, соблюдение ее принципов. 

Несмотря на то, что в названии данной профессии имеется слово «Scrum», scrum-мастер не обязан ограничиваться работой только с этим фреймворком. Он может использовать и Аgile, и Kanban, Lean Startup, смешивать разные подходы.

Главная задача scrum-мастера состоит в том, чтобы найти нужный вариант работы, учитывая и понимая особенности команды и проекта, то есть оптимизировать рабочий процесс, а также решать различные трудности на пути к созданию идеального продукта.

Какие знания и навыки должен иметь

Хороший scrum-мастера должен быть: креативным, любопытным, коммуникативным, адаптивным и стрессоустойчивым, обладать организаторскими способностями и лидерскими качествами. 

Scrum-мастер должен понимать процесс разработки продукта. Именно поэтому очень часто на данную позицию берут сотрудников, имеющих опыт Project manager, QA, бизнес-аналитика. 

К специальным знаниям, которые предъявляются к scrum-мастера относятся владение и понимание Agile, Scrum, specification by example, delivery и deployment и др., разбираться в различных практиках, например, в TDD (Test Driven Development), BDD (Behavior Driven Development). 

При изучении и анализе вакансий на должность scrum-мастера чаще всего встречаются такие требования:

Средняя заработная плата

Профессия Scrum-мастера не один год входи в список перспективных профессий (согласно рейтингу LinkedIn). Предполагается, что в ближайшее время данная профессия станет популярной, спрос на нее возрастет, и минимальная зарплата будет составлять не менее 8 300 долларов США.

Но, как и говорилось выше, специальность Scrum-мастера только недавно появилась в Республике Беларусь, поэтому вести речь о такой зарплате в ближайшее время не представляется возможным. 

Средняя заработная плата Scrum-мастера в Республике Беларусь составляет от 500 до 3300 долларов США. 

Где обучаются

Одной теории, которую предлагают многочисленные кусы, школы, для того чтобы стать Scrum-мастером, недостаточно. Необходима практика и наличие опыта работы с группой. Прийти в профессии пройдя только курсы, практически невозможно, поскольку в работе Scrum-мастера очень много нюансов, вопросов, которых необходимо каждый день решать на практике. 

Опытные Scrum-мастера советуют пройти обучение фасилитации, коучингу, конфликтологии, поскольку данные навыки являются базовыми для профессии.

Кроме того, у скрама есть своя настольная книга - скрам-гайд, где описано руководство по применению подхода. 

Много полезной информации можно подчеркнуть на конференциях, посвященных Agile, при посещении открытых митапов, где встречаются специалисты, практикующие гибкие методологии, а также при просмотре интервью со Scrum-мастера. 

Кроме того, в Республики Беларусь имеются официальные сертификационные курсы, по результатам которых обучающийся, в случае успешной сдачи экзаменов, получает статус CSM (Certified ScrumMaster). 

UI/UX дизайнер

Кто такой

UX/UI Designer это специалист, который занимается проектированием пользовательских интерфейсов. Данная профессия объединила в себе два различных направления в дизайне - UI (User Interface), то есть «пользовательский интерфейс» и UX (User Experience), то есть «опыт пользователя».  

Если UI занимается внешним обликом интерфейса, то UX заботится о том, чтобы пользователю было комфортно, а также побуждает его к совершению определенных действий. Можно сказать, что UI это визуальное воплощение UX.  

Так сложилась практика, что UX и UI между собой очень тесно связано, поэтому эту работу выполняет, как правило, один универсальный специалист.

Какие знания и навыки должен иметь

Для того, чтобы стать UX/UI-дизайнером недостаточно быть просто творческим человеком с дипломом дизайнера или художника. Человек для данной профессии должен обладать хорошо развитой логикой, пространственным мышлением и воображением, уметь соблюдать правила и следовать заданиям, иметь терпение и стрессоустойчивость. 

Чтобы получить профессию UX/UI-дизайнера необходимо иметь базовые навыки в веб-дизайне и владеть основными программами, такими как: Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator, Figma, Axure, Sketch. 

Нужно понимать, что UX/UI дизайн очень динамичное направление, в котором появляются новые тенденции, им нужно следовать. 

Основные требования к кандидату на должность UX/UI-дизайнера, которые встречаются при изучении вакансий: 

•          Опыт работы с Figma, Adobe Photoshop, Adobe AfterEffects, Zeplin

•          Наличие портфолио с соответствующими примерами UI/UX

•          Владеете хорошими навыками коммуникации, чувством стиля.

Средняя заработная плата

UI/UX-дизайнеру в Республике Беларусь предлагают следующую заработную плату: Junior – 600 долларов США, middle –2000 долларов США, senior – 3000 долларов США, а team lead – не менее 4000 долларов США.

Где обучаются

Поскольку UI/UX дизайн в настоящее время является одной из самых востребованных профессий в цифровой индустрии, возможностей обучения очень много. Это могут быть курсы, блоги, гайдлайны и даже книги, статьи и советы из блогов.

Как говорят сами UI/UX дизайнеры - лучший способ стать UI/UX дизайнером – начать им работать. Как только появляются первые знания, нужно приступать к практике